Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Which 37 House Democrats Voted with the GOP to Poison Your Water?

Today, the House brought up several bills in suspension in order to finish off with some issues before the August recess.

I would like to highlight one of those bills: H. R. 935.

H. R. 935 would eliminate Clean Water Act protections for waterways that are being sprayed with pesticides. Let me let the NRDC explain:
Since 2011, anyone who plans to apply a pesticide into a body of water must first comply with a permit. It’s a simple permit that gives the public information about what pesticides are going into their local waterways. It is very commonsense. For example, if a lake is already heavily contaminated with a particular pesticide, this permit says that an applicator cannot put MORE of that particular pesticide into the lake.
This permit applies to sprayers who are applying directly into waters – so to treat for algae, weeds, invasive species, and mosquitos. It doesn’t affect farmers’ ability to use pesticides on land. (In fact, run off of irrigation water into waterways from farmland that contains pesticides has always been exempt from the Clean Water Act.)
EPA’s pesticide office has even said that they have received ZERO complaints about the permit or enforcement of the permit. Nothing from the states. Nothing from the applicators. Nothing.
Basically, it's a bill designed to make the life of polluters easier at the expense of your health and the environment. 
Since it was brought up under suspension (which requires a 2/3 majority for passage), the bill failed. But it has the votes to pass. 216 Republicans and 37 Democrats voted for it. 148 Democrats voted against it.

Which 37 Democrats want to pollute your water to appease big polluters?

Ron Barber (AZ-02)
John Barrow (GA-12)
Sanford Bishop (GA-02)
Cheri Bustos (IL-17)
G. K. Butterfield (NC-01)
Lois Capps (CA-24)
John Carney (DE-AL)
Jim Costa (CA-16)
Joe Courtney (CT-02)
Henry Cuellar (TX-28)
Suzan DelBene (WA-01)
Bill Enyart (IL-12)
Sam Farr (CA-20)
Chaka Fattah (PA-02)
John Garamendi (CA-03)
Joe Garcia (FL-26)
Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Annie Kuster (NH-02)
David Loebsack (IA-02)
Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-01)
Sean Maloney (NY-18)
Jim Matheson (UT-04)
Mike McIntyre (NC-07)
Mike Michaud (ME-020
Patrick Murphy (FL-18)
Bill Owens (NY-21)
Ed Perlmutter (CO-07)
Gary Peters (MI-14)
Collin Peterson (MN-07)
Nick Rahall (WV-03)
Kurt Schrader (OR-05)
David Scott (GA-13)
Terri Sewell (AL-07)
Kysrten Sinema (AZ-09)
Filemon Vela (TX-34)
Tim Walz (MN-01)
Pete Welch (VT-AL)

No comments:

Post a Comment