Thursday, July 17, 2014

Which 20 Democrats Voted to Gut DC's Gun Laws?

The amendment process for the 2015 House financial services appropriations bill provided an excellent example of the contempt Congress has for DC's self-government.

Rep. Tom Massie (KY-04) offered an amendment to gut the District's gun laws. Specifically, his amendment would prohibit the use of funds by any authority of the government of the District of Columbia to enforce any provision of the Firearms Registration Amendment Act of 2008, the Inoperable Pistol Amendment Act of 2008, the Firearms Amendment Act of 2012, or the Administrative Disposition for Weapons Offenses Amendment Act of 2012. Massie doesn't believe that the District has the right to pass its own laws, you see. And his amendment would make the gun laws in the District even weaker than they are in his home district in Kentucky.

Well, unsurprisingly, it passed, on a vote of 241 to 181.  221 Republicans and 20 Democrats voted for it. 177 Democrats and 4 Republicans voted against it.

The four Republican opponents came from the Philadelphia metro area---Mike Fitzpatrick (PA-08) of Bucks County and Pat Meehan (PA-07) of Delaware County--and the New York metro area---Michael Grimm (NY-11) of Staten Island and Pete King (NY-02) of Long Island.

Who were the 20 Democrats?

John Barrow (GA-12)
Jim Costa (CA-16)
Henry Cuellar (TX-28)
Pete DeFazio (OR-04)
John Dingell (MI-12)
Pete Gallego (TX-23)
John Garamendi (CA-03)
Gene Green (TX-29)
Ron Kind (WI-03)
Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-01)
Jim Matheson (UT-04)
Mike McIntyre (NC-07)
Mike Michaud (ME-02)
Bill Owens (NY-21)
Collin Peterson (MN-07)
Jared Polis (CO-02)
Nick Rahall (WV-03)
Kurt Schrader (OR-05)
Filemon Vela (TX-34)
Tim Walz (MN-01)

No comments:

Post a Comment