Thursday, May 8, 2014

Which 7 Democrats Joined the GOP for the Latest #Benghazi Theatrics?

The House today voted 232 to 186 for the establishment of a Select Committee on the events surrounding the 2012 terrorist attack in Benghazi.

The GOP has been crassly fundraising on their efforts to create a Select Committee, and the Committee will be a venue for Republicans to pander to their base. The GOP has consistently ignored one obvious solution for preventing future attacks: increased funding for security at diplomatic posts.

Republicans have also never showed interest in the fact that the outpost in question was a CIA location, not a State Department one. That, however, would mitigate the attention on Hillary Clinton, a large part of the reason for the Republican theatrics.

7 Democrats voted with Republicans to create the Select Committee:

Ron Barber (AZ-02)
John Barrow (GA-12)
Mike McIntyre (NC-07)
Patrick Murphy (FL-18)
Collin Peterson (MN-07)
Nick Rahall (WV-03)
Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09)

Mike McIntyre is retiring, so he really must be a right-wing true believer.

Of those up for re-election, Barber (R+3), Barrow (R+9), Murphy (R+3), Peterson (R+5), and Sinema (R+1) are all in districts that lean Republican to various degrees. However, the people who view #Benghazi as a voting issue in the election will not be voting for their Democratic incumbents. Democrats shouldn't be pandering to the other party's base.

No comments:

Post a Comment