Thursday, May 8, 2014

26 ConservaDems Join the House GOP for the Latest IRS Political Stunt

The House just voted to call on Attorney General Eric Holder to appoint a special counsel to investigate the "targeting" of Tea Party groups by the IRS.

Despite all evidence to the contrary, Republicans will not let go of the belief that they were uniquely targeted by the IRS for their political beliefs in a grand scheme designed by the president.
The IRS "scandal" was the result of the lack of clear criteria for evaluating acceptable political advocacy by 501(c)4, or "social welfare," organizations. The Republicans have consistently opposed efforts to develop such clear criteria.

The House passed a resolution, not a bill, and thus it has no legal import. It is little more than posturing.

Several Democrats criticized the effort as such:
"This hallowed institution must not be turned into a campaign arm of either political party. And that's what the House Republicans are exactly doing here," said Rep. Sandy Levin (D-Mich.)
"This is the House of Representatives. Not a political circus," Levin said.
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-Texas) said that House Republicans did not have to resort to a full House vote to request a special counsel.
"Rather than simply writing a letter to the attorney general asking him to appoint a special counsel, which is the time-honored way to do this, the House leadership has resorted to using a resolution that is subject to floor debate and of course C-SPAN coverage, but has no real legal effect," Jackson Lee said.
However, as should surprise no one, 26 conservative Democrats joined the GOP in passing the resolution. 
 Here are the 26:

Ron Barber (AZ-02)
John Barrow (GA-12)
Ami Bera (CA-07)
Julia Brownley (CA-26)
Cheri Bustos (IL-17)
Suzan DelBene (WA-01)
Elizabeth Esty (CT-05)
Bill Foster (IL-11)
Tulsi Gabbard (HI-02)
Joe Garcia (FL-26)
Ann Kuster (NH-02)
Dan Lipinski (IL-03)
David Loebsack (IA-2)
Dan Maffei (NY-24)
Jim Matheson (UT-04)
Mike McIntyre (NC-07)
Patrick Murphy (FL-18)
Bill Owens (NY-21)
Scott Peters (CA-52)
Collin Peterson (MN-07)
Nick Rahall (WV-03)
Raul Ruiz (CA-36)
Brad Schneider (IL-10)
Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09)
Niki Tsongas (MA-03)
Tim Walz (MN-01)

The name that stands out the most here is Tulsi Gabbard. HI-02 is a D+21 district. It is bad enough when Democrats in purple districts think they have to pander to the Republican base. It's just bizarre when Democrats in deep blue districts think the same.

The House also passed a resolution calling Lois Lerner in contempt of Congress, the first time Congress has done so since the McCarthy era.

Six Democrats joined the GOP in passing the resolution:

Ron Barber (AZ-02)
John Barrow (GA-12)
Mike McIntyre (NC-07)
Patrick Murphy (FL-18)
Collin Peterson (MN-07)
Nick Rahall (WV-03)

No comments:

Post a Comment