Friday, April 24, 2015

Only 63 Representatives (44 Dems) Stood up for Privacy Rights Yesterday

On Wednesday, the House voted 307 to 116 to pass the Protecting Cyber Networks Act, a surveillance bill dressed up like a cybersecurity bill.

Yesterday, the House passed another "cybersecurity" bill: the National Cybersecurity Protection Advancement Act of 2015.

This bill is similar to the bill passed on Wednesday (You can click the link above for a description of that one):
The second bill, which recently advanced out of the Homeland Security Committee on a voice vote, is similar to the cyber-networks bill, but it would use the Department of Homeland Security as an intermediary for sharing the electronic information. In return, companies would get protection from civil suits brought by consumers who think the information sharing violates privacy laws.
Today's bill passed 355 to 63
220 Republicans and 135 Democrats voted for it. 44 Democrats and 19 Republicans voted against it.
Here are the 44 Democrats who voted against it:

Karen Bass (CA-37)
Xavier Becerra (CA-34)
Earl Blumenauer (OR-03)
Bob Brady (PA-01)
Mike Capuano (MA-07)
Matt Cartwright (PA-17)
Judy Chu (CA-27)
David Cicilline (RI-01)
Katherine Clark (MA-05)
John Conyers (MI-13)
Joe Courtney (CT-02)
Rosa DeLauro (CT-03)
Ted Deutch (FL-21)
Mike Doyle (PA-14)
Donna Edwards (MD-04)
Keith Ellison (MN-05)
Elizabeth Esty (CT-05)
Chaka Fattah (PA-02)
Alan Grayson (FL-09)
Raul Grijalva (AZ-03)
Eddie B. Johnson (TX-30)
John Larson (CT-01)
Barbara Lee (CA-13)
Ted Lieu (CA-33)
Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)
Jim McGovern (MA-02)
Jerry Nadler (NY-10)
Rick Nolan (MN-08)
Chellie Pingree (ME-01)
Mark Pocan (WI-02)
Jared Polis (CO-02)
Tim Ryan (OH-13)
John Sarbanes (MD-03)
Jose Serrano (NY-15)
Louise Slaughter (NY-25)
Mark Takano (CA-41)
Paul Tonko (NY-20)
Niki Tsongas (MA-03)
Chris Van Hollen (MD-08)
Nydia Velázquez (NY-07)
Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23)
Maxine Waters (CA-43)
Pete Welch (VT-AL)
John Yarmuth (KY-03)

And here are the 19 Republicans:

Justin Amash (MI-03)
Dave Brat (VA-07)
Jim Bridenstine (OK-01)
Scott DesJarlais (TN-04)
John Fleming (LA-04)
Scott Garrett (NJ-05)
Louie Gohmert (TX-01)
Paul Gosar (AZ-04)
Tom Graves (GA-14)
Frank Guinta (NH-01)
Tim Huelskamp (KS-01)
Darrell Issa (CA-49)
Walter Jones (NC-03)
Jim Jordan (OH-04)
Raul Labrador (ID-01)
Tom Massie (KY-04)
Alex Mooney (WV-02)
Matt Salmon (AZ-05)
Mark Sanford (SC-01)

With two exceptions, all of the 63 also voted against the bill yesterday as well. Those exceptions were Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23) (who was not there) and Scott Garrett (NJ-05) (who voted for the bill).

Anna Eshoo (CA-18) and Frank Pallone (NJ-06), who both voted against yesterday's bill, were not present today.

No comments:

Post a Comment