Wednesday, April 22, 2015

202 Republicans and 105 Democrats Just Voted to Further Erode Privacy Rights

During his State of the Union address, Obama highlighted two issues where he would work with the Republican Congress which should have raised red flags for progressives: trade and cybersecurity.
The House just took up cybersecurity today, passing the Protecting Cyber Networks Act.

The bill is a surveillance bill under the guise of a cybersecurity bill, greatly expanding the reach of the NSA.

Earlier this week, a coalition of civil liberties groups and security experts wrote to Congress urging members to oppose the bill.

Here is what PCNA would do:
Authorize companies to significantly expand monitoring of their users’ online activities, and permit sharing of vaguely defined “cyber threat indicators” without adequate privacy protections prior to sharing.

Require federal entities to automatically disseminate to the NSA all cyber threat indicators they receive, including personal information about individuals.

Authorize overbroad law enforcement uses that go far outside the scope of cybersecurity
Authorize companies to deploy invasive countermeasures, euphemistically called “defensive measures”
Here's the Electronic Frontier Foundation further explaining why CISA (the Senate bill) and PCNA (the House bill) are bad for civil liberties:
The two bills are part of a slew of cybersecurity bills that have been introduced in Congress this year that are ostensibly intended to facilitate more information sharing about computer security threats from the private sector to the government. But the bills aren't about "information sharing." They're about surveillance. The bill's vague definition and broad legal immunity for new spying powers will facilitate a potentially enormous amount of unrelated personal information to government agencies like the NSA.

The bills' immunity provisions could even increase the militarization of the internet by encouraging companies to conduct computer network exfiltration attacks on adversary's computers.

To make matters worse, companies are granted broad legal immunity leaving them free to share the information without being concerned about what it might be used for. And as one of the letters points out: "CISA allows everyday police to use the information to investigate crimes that have nothing to do with cybersecurity, such as robbery, arson, and carjacking."
The bill passed 307 to 116. 202 Republicans and 105 Democrats voted for it. 37 Republicans and 79 Democrats voted against it. 
Here are the 79 Democrats who voted against it:

Karen Bass (CA-37)
Xavier Becerra (CA-34)
Earl Blumenauer (OR-03)
Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01)
Bob Brady (PA-01)
Lois Capps (CA-24)
Mike Capuano (MA-07)
Matt Cartwright (PA-17)
Judy Chu (CA-27)
David Cicilline (RI-01)
Katherine Clark (MA-05)
Steve Cohen (TN-09)
John Conyers (MI-13)
Joe Courtney (CT-02)
Elijah Cummings (MD-07)
Danny Davis (IL-07)
Pete DeFazio (OR-04)
Diana DeGette (CO-01)
Rosa DeLauro (CT-03
Suzan DelBene (WA-01)
Ted Deutch (FL-21)
Lloyd Doggett (TX-35)
Mike Doyle (PA-14)
Donna Edwards (MD-04)
Keith Ellison (MN-05)
Anna Eshoo (CA-18)
Elizabeth Esty (CT-05)
Chaka Fattah (PA-02)
Tulsi Gabbard (HI-02)
Alan Grayson (FL-09)
Al Green (TX-09)
Raul Grijalva (AZ-03)
Janice Hahn (CA-44)
Mike Honda (CA-17)
Jared Huffman (CA-02)
Hank Johnson (GA-04)
Eddie B. Johnson (TX-30)
Dan Kildee (MI-05)
John Larson (CT-01)
Barbara Lee (CA-13)
John Lewis (GA-05)
Ted Lieu (CA-33)
Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)
Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)
Stephen Lynch (MA-08)
Doris Matsui (CA-06)
Betty McCollum (MN-04)
Jim McDermott (WA-07)
Jim McGovern (MA-02)
Jerry Nadler (NY-10)
Grace Napolitano (CA-32)
Rick Nolan (MN-08)
Beto O’Rourke (TX-16)
Frank Pallone (NJ-06)
Chellie Pingree (ME-01)
Mark Pocan (WI-02)
Jared Polis (CO-02)
Charlie Rangel (NY-13)
Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40)
Bobby Rush (IL-01)
Tim Ryan (OH-13)
Linda Sánchez (CA-38)
John Sarbanes (MD-03)
Jan Schakowsky (IL-09)
Bobby Scott (VA-03)
Jose Serrano (NY-15)
Brad Sherman (CA-30)
Louise Slaughter (NY-25)
Mark Takano (CA-41)
Paul Tonko (NY-20)
Niki Tsongas (MA-03)
Chris Van Hollen (MD-08)
Filemon Vela (TX-34)
Nydia Velázquez (NY-07)
Tim Walz (MN-01)
Maxine Waters (CA-43)
Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12)
Pete Welch (VT-AL)
John Yarmuth (KY-03)

Here are the 37 Republicans:

Justin Amash (MI-03)
Joe Barton (TX-26)
Dave Brat (VA-07)
Jim Bridenstine (OK-01)
Vern Buchanan (FL-16)
Curt Clawson (FL-19)
Scott DesJarlais (TN-04)
Jeff Duncan (SC-03)
John Duncan (TN-02)
John Fleming (LA-04)
Chris Gibson (NY-19)
Louie Gohmert (TX-01)
Paul Gosar (AZ-04)
Tom Graves (GA-14)
Morgan Griffith (VA-09)
Glenn Grothman (WI-06)
Frank Guinta (NH-01)
Andy Harris (MD-01)
Jody Hice (GA-10)
Tim Huelskamp (KS-01)
Darrell Issa (CA-49)
Walter Jones (NC-03)
Jim Jordan (OH-04)
Raul Labrador (ID-01)
Barry Loudermilk (GA-11)
Cynthia Lummis (WY-AL)
Tom Massie (KY-04)
Tom McClintock (CA-04)
Alex Mooney (WV-02)
Scott Perry (PA-04)
Ted Poe (TX-02)
Bill Posey (FL-08)
Reid Ribble (WI-08)
Matt Salmon (AZ-05)
Mark Sanford (SC-01)
David Schweikert (AZ-06)
Martin Stutzman (IN-03)

No comments:

Post a Comment