Friday, January 30, 2015

The 47-Part Keystone XL Vote-a-thon is Now Done. How Often Did Your Senator Break Party Line?

Over the past two and a half weeks, the Senate cast a total of 47 votes related to the Keystone XL bill. They consisted of 4 cloture motions, 42 amendments (whether voted on or tabled), and 1 vote on final passage.

I've chronicled most of these votes (See here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and here). You can read about the final vote on passage in Meteor Blades's diary. It was identical to the cloture vote to end debate.

I would like to highlight the last three amendment votes and then do a review of the 47-part vote-a-thon, looking at how often each Democrat broke party line to take the anti-environment position. If people are interested in the corresponding information for Republicans, let me know. The only Republicans to cross party lines to vote with Democrats ten or more times were Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Susan Collins (R-ME), and Mark Kirk (R-IL).
The Final Amendment Votes

Cory Booker (D-NJ) offered an amendment to allow permitting agencies to consider new circumstances and new information.

It failed 41 to 56.

Four Democrats joined Republicans in voting against it:

Michael Bennet (D-CO)
Joe Donnelly (D-IN)
Claire McCaskill (D-MO)
Mark Warner (D-VA)

Ed Markey (D-MA) offered an amendment to delay the effective date until the President determines whether increased carbon pollution from tar sands oil production associated with the Keystone XL pipeline would contribute to an increase in more extreme weather events.

It failed 36 to 62.

Michael Bennet (D-CO)
Joe Donnelly (D-IN)
Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)
Tim Kaine (D-VA)
Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Joe Manchin (D-WV)
Claire McCaskill (D-MO)
Jon Tester (D-MT)
Mark Warner (D-VA)

Ed Markey (D-MA) offered an amendment to close the tax loophole that would allow Canadian companies to transport the tar sands oil through the pipeline without paying into a trust fund used to help pay for oil spill clean-ups.

It failed 44 to 54.

One Democrat—Claire McCaskill (D-MO)—voted against it.
Keystone in Review

Over the course of the two and a half week vote-a-thon, 17 members of the Democratic caucus broke party line to vote with the Republicans at least once.

Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND): 22
Joe Manchin (D-WV): 22
Joe Donnelly (D-IN): 17
Claire McCaskill (D-MO): 14
Michael Bennet (D-CO): 11
Mark Warner (D-VA): 10
Jon Tester (D-MT): 8
Tom Carper (D-DE): 7
Bob Casey (D-PA): 5
Tim Kaine (D-VA): 4
Amy Klobuchar (D-MN): 4
Bill Nelson (D-FL): 2
Tom Udall (D-NM): 2
Richard Blumenthal (D-CT): 1
Martin Heinrich (D-NM): 1
Angus King (I-ME): 1
Ron Wyden (D-WA): 1

28 members of the Democratic caucus stayed true to the party line throughout:

Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
Cory Booker (D-NJ)
Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Maria Cantwell (D-WA)
Ben Cardin (D-MD)
Chris Coons (D-DE)
Dick Durbin (D-IL)
Diane Feinstein (D-CA)
Al Franken (D-MN)
Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)
Mazie Hirono (D-HI)
Pat Leahy (D-VT)
Ed Markey (D-MA)
Bob Menendez (D-NJ)
Jeff Merkley (D-OR)
Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
Chris Murphy (D-CT)
Patty Murray (D-WA)
Gary Peters (D-MI)
Jack Reed (D-RI)
Bernie Sanders (I-VT)
Brian Schatz (D-HI)
Chuck Schumer (D-NY)
Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)
Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)

Harry Reid (D-NV) has been out due to an injury.

I have a senator-by-senator breakdown here.

No comments:

Post a Comment