Saturday, May 23, 2015

Which 48 Democrats Want to Privatize Outer Space?

On Thursday, the House passed the SPACE Act of 2015 (H.R. 2262), a bill designed to promote commercial space travel and exploration.

Here is a summary of what the bill does:
This bill is a combination of numerous provisions related to the commercial U.S. space industry. It would extend through 2025 the general moratorium on the FAA’s ability to issue certain crew safety rules (the so-called "learning period") but allow industry-supported voluntary standards to be implemented in the interim. The bill would also extend through 2025 federal indemnification of commercial space launch companies against third-party claims associated with launch accidents.
The bill also would expand existing liability protections, including requiring any commercial space related lawsuit be heard only in U.S. federal courts, eliminating any state or common law remedies. It would require that the base insurance policy for launch providers and government indemnification cover paying passengers on commercial spacecraft and government astronauts, and it requires all participants in a launch to waive liability claims against one another in the event of an accident or other mishap.
The bill would require the President to promote the commercial exploration and utilization of space resources – including resources in or on asteroids – and establish a legal framework for such activities. The bill would also require the Commerce Department to file an annual report on private remote sensing space systems licensing.
In other words, it seeks to keep commercial space travel exempt from safety regulations and liabilities and to promote the privatization of space resources. 
It passed 284 to 133.

236 Republicans and 48 Democrats voted for it. 130 Democrats and 3 Republicans voted against it.
Those 3 Republicans were Justin Amash (MI-03), Walter Jones (NC-03), and Tom Massie (KY-04).

Here are the 48 Democrats:

Pete Aguilar (CA-31)
Brad Ashford (NE-02)
Earl Blumenauer (OR-03)
Cheri Bustos (IL-17)
Mike Capuano (MA-07)
Tony Cárdenas (CA-29)
John Carney (DE-AL)
Joaquin Castro (TX-20)
Jim Cooper (TN-05)
Jim Costa (CA-16)
Henry Cuellar (TX-28)
John Delaney (MD-06)
Suzan DelBene (WA-01)
Chaka Fattah (PA-02)
John Garamendi (CA-03)
Gwen Graham (FL-02)
Al Green (TX-09)
Gene Green (TX-29)
Janice Hahn (CA-44)
Denny Heck (WA-10)
Brian Higgins (NY-26)
Jim Himes (CT-04)
Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Derek Kilmer (WA-06)
Ron Kind (WI-03)
Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-01)
Rick Larsen (WA-02)
Ted Lieu (CA-33)
Dan Lipinski (IL-03)
Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)
Sean Maloney (NY-18)
Patrick Murphy (FL-18)
Rick Nolan (MN-08)
Beto O’Rourke (TX-16)
Ed Perlmutter (CO-07)
Scott Peters (CA-52)
Collin Peterson (MN-07)
Jared Polis (CO-02)
Kathleen Rice (NY-04)
Raul Ruiz (CA-36)
Dutch Ruppersberger (MD-02)
Adam Schiff (CA-28)
Kurt Schrader (OR-05)
Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09)
Eric Swalwell (CA-15)
Juan Vargas (CA-51)
Filemon Vela (TX-34)
Tim Walz (MN-01)

No comments:

Post a Comment