Thursday, December 11, 2014

Day After Torture Report Release, Congress Votes to Give the CIA More Money

You may have been wondering how Congress would respond to the release of the torture report, which documented countless violations of the law on many levels.

Well, the House decided its response yesterday: give the CIA more money:
The House on Wednesday cleared the intelligence authorization for fiscal 2015 with little opposition a day after the release of a Senate report asserting that the CIA used torture on detainees and misled lawmakers.
Specifics of the intelligence authorization are limited because much of it is classified. It authorizes activities and funding for the CIA, National Security Agency (NSA) and Director of National Intelligence (DNI).
House Intelligence Committee Chairman Mike Rogers (R-Mich.) said the authorization increases the president's budget request by less than one percent and is consistent with the 2013 budget pact.
"The bill's modest increase reflects the committee's concern that the president's request does not properly fund a number of important initiatives and leaves several unacceptable shortfalls when it comes to the matters of national security," Rogers said.
Lawmakers also noted the measure authorizes additional resources to fight the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS).
The Intelligence Authorization Act for Fiscal Years 2014 and 2015 passed 325 to 100. 184 Republicans and 141 Democrats voted for it. 45 Republicans and 55 Democrats voted against it.

Here are the 55 Democrats who voted NO:

Karen Bass (CA-37)
Earl Blumenauer (OR-03)
Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01)
Judy Chu (CA-32)
Katherine Clarke (MA-05)
Yvette Clarke (NY-09)
Steve Cohen (TN-09)
John Conyers (MI-13)
Elijah Cummings (MD-07)
Pete DeFazio (OR-04)
Suzan DelBene (WA-01)
Lloyd Doggett (TX-35)
Mike Doyle (PA-14)
Anna Eshoo (CA-18)
Sam Farr (CA-20)
John Garamendi (CA-03)
Joe Garcia (FL-26)
Alan Grayson (FL-09)
Raul Grijalva (AZ-03)
Luis Gutierrez (IL-04)
Janice Hahn (CA-44)
Colleen Hanabusa (HI-01)
Alcee Hastings (FL-20)
Denny Heck (WA-10)
Rush Holt (NJ-12)
Mike Honda (CA-17)
Jared Huffman (CA-02)
Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Marcy Kaptur (OH-09)
Dan Kildee (MI-05)
Barbara Lee (CA-13)
John Lewis (GA-05)
Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)
Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)
Doris Matsui (CA-06)
Betty McCollum (MN-04)
Jim McDermott (WA-07)
Jim McGovern (MA-02)
Gwen Moore (WI-04)
Jerry Nadler (NY-10)
Beto O’Rourke (TX-16)
Frank Pallone (NJ-06)
Mark Pocan (WI-02)
Jared Polis (CO-02)
Charlie Rangel (NY-13)
Jan Schakowsky (IL-09)
Jose Serrano (NY-15)
Jackie Speier (CA-14)
Eric Swalwell (CA-15)
Mark Takano (CA-41)
John Tierney (MA-06)
Nydia Velázquez (NY-07)
Maxine Waters (CA-43)
Pete Welch (VT-AL)
John Yarmuth (KY-03)

Here are the 45 Republicans:

Justin Amash (MI-03)
Kerry Bentivolio (MI-11)
David Brat (VA-07)
Jim Bridenstine (OK-01)
Mo Brooks (AL-05)
Paul Broun (GA-10)
Michael Burgess (TX-26)
Curt Clawson (FL-19)
Scott DesJarlais (TN-04)
Jeff Duncan (SC-03)
John Duncan (TN-02)
Scott Garrett (NJ-05)
Chris Gibson (NY-19)
Louie Gohmert (TX-01)
Paul Gosar (AZ-04)
Trey Gowdy (SC-04)
Tom Graves (GA-14)
Morgan Griffith (VA-09)
Tim Huelskamp (KS-01)
Walter Jones (NC-03)
Jim Jordan (OH-04)
Jack Kingston (GA-01)
Raul Labrador (ID-01)
Cynthia Lummis (WY-AL)
Tom Massie (KY-04)
Tom McClintock (CA-04)
Mark Meadows (NC-11)
John Mica (FL-07)
Mick Mulvaney (SC-05)
Richard Nugent (FL-11)
Scott Perry (PA-04)
Ted Poe (TX-02)
Bill Posey (FL-08)
Reid Ribble (WI-08)
Phil Roe (TN-01)
Dana Rohrabacher (CA-48)
Matt Salmon (AZ-05)
Mark Sanford (SC-01)
Austin Scott (GA-08)
Jim Sensenbrenner (WI-05)
Steve Stockman (TX-36)
Scott Tipton (CO-03)
Randy Weber (TX-14)
Rob Woodall (GA-07)
Ted Yoho (FL-03)

No comments:

Post a Comment