Friday, November 14, 2014

Which 31 Oily Democrats Just Voted to Force the Approval of the Keystone Pipeline?

Just now, the House voted 252 to 162 to force the approval of the Keystone XL pipeline. Justin Amash (MI-03) voted present as he has frequently done with KXL bills because, while supporting the construction of the pipeline, he opposes the process by which his fellow Republicans have been going about to force its approval.

Which 31 Democrats are so bought by the oil industry that they voted with the Republican caucus?

John Barrow (GA-12)
Sanford Bishop (GA-02)
Bob Brady (PA-01)
Jim Clyburn (SC-06)
Jim Cooper (TN-05)
Henry Cuellar (TX-28)
Mike Doyle (PA-14)
Al Green (TX-09)
Gene Green (TX-29)
Ruben Hinojosa (TX-15)
Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Dan Lipinski (IL-03)
David Loebsack (IA-02)
Sean Maloney (NY-18)
Jim Matheson (UT-04)
Carolyn McCarthy (NY-04)
Mike McIntyre (NC-07)
Patrick Murphy (FL-18)
Rick Nolan (MN-08)
Donald Norcross (NJ-01)
William Owens (NY-21)
Colin Peterson (MN-07)
Nick Rahall (WV-03)
Cedric Richmond (LA-02)
David Scott (GA-13)
Terri Sewell (AL-07)
Albio Sires (NJ-08)
Bennie Thompson (MS-02)
Marc Veasey (TX-33)
Filemon Vela (TX-34)
Tim Walz (MN-01)

Bob Brady's name stands out for me as a particularly shameless one--he represents Philadelphia and some of its southwest suburbs. Donald Norcross, who represents the Philadelphia suburbs in South Jersey, was just sworn in (His predecessor--Rob Andrews--resigned back in February to become a lobbyist), and this is one of his very first votes.

Given that 162 Democrats opposed it, there is not a veto-proof majority. Recent statements from the president have indicated that he may be likely to veto the bill because it is an attempt to override his authority.

No comments:

Post a Comment