Thursday, March 20, 2014

The Iraq War Turns 11: Let's Look Back at the Vote

Today marks the 11th anniversary of the formal start of the Iraq War. I thought I would use the occasion for a trip down memory lane to see how current members of Congress voted on the Iraq War resolutions.

On October 10, 2002, the House passed the Authorization of the Use of Military Force (AUMF) for Iraq 296 to 133. 215 Republicans and 81 Democrats voted for it. 126 Democrats, 6 Republicans, and 1 Independent (Sanders) voted against it.

Of those 127 NAY votes from the Democratic caucus, 66 are still in the House, and 7 are now in the Senate.

Here are the 66 in the House:
Xavier Becerra (CA-34)
Earl Blumenauer (OR-03)
Bob Brady (PA-01)
Corinne Brown (FL-05)
Lois Capps (CA-24)
Mike Capuano (MA-07)
Lacy Clay (MO-01)
James Clyburn (SC-06)
John Conyers (MI-13)
Elijah Cummings (MD-07)
Danny Davis (IL-07)
Susan Davis (CA-53)
Pete DeFazio (OR-04)
Diana DeGette (CO-01)
Rosa DeLauro (CT-03)
John Dingell (MI-12)
Lloyd Doggett (TX-35)
Mike Doyle (PA-14)
Anna Eshoo (CA-18)
Sam Farr (CA-20)
Chaka Fattah (PA-02)
Luis Gutierrez (IL-04)
Alcee Hastings (FL-20)
Ruben Hinojosa (TX-15)
Rush Holt (NJ-12)
Mike Honda (CA-17)
Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30)
Marcy Kaptur (OH-09)
Dan Kildee (MI-05)
Jim Langevin (RI-02)
Rick Larsen (WA-02)
John Larson (CT-01)
Sandy Levin (MI-09)
Barbara Lee (CA-13)
John Lewis (GA-05)
Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)
Doris Matsui (CA-06)
Betty McCollum (MN-04)
Jim McDermott (WA-07)
Jim McGovern (MA-02)
Gregory Meeks (NY-05)
George Miller (CA-11)
Jim Moran (VA-08)
Jerry Nadler (NY-10)
Grace Napolitano (CA-32)
Richard Neal (MA-01)
Frank Pallone (NJ-06)
Ed Pastor (AZ-07)
Nancy Pelosi (CA-12)
David Price (NC-04)
Nick Rahall (WV-03)
Charlie Rangel (NY-13)
Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40)
Bobby Rush (IL-01)
Loretta Sanchez (CA-46)
Jan Schakowsky (IL-09)
Bobby Scott (VA-03)
Jose Serrano (NY-15)
Louise Slaughter (NY-25)
Bennie Thompson (MS-02)
Mike Thompson (CA-05)
John Tierney (MA-06)
Nydia Velázquez (NY-07)
Pete Visclosky (IN-01)
Maxine Waters (CA-43)
Here are the 7 now in the Senate:
Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Ben Cardin (D-MD)
Robert Menendez (D-NJ)
Bernie Sanders (I-VT)
Mark Udall (D-CO)
Tom Udall (D-NM)

Of the 81 YEA votes of the Democratic caucus, 20 are currently in the House, and 1 is in the Senate.
Here are the 20 in the Hous:

Sanford Bishop (GA-02)
Joe Crowley (NY-14)
Ted Deutsch (FL-21)
Eliot Engel (NY-16)
Gene Green (TX-29)
Steny Hoyer (MD-05)
Steve Israel (NY-03)
Ron Kind (WI-03)
Nita Lowey (NY-17)
Stephen Lynch (MA-08)
Carolyn Maloney (NY-12)
Jim Matheson (UT-04)
Carolyn McCarthy (NY-04)
Mike McIntyre (NC-07)
Bill Pascrell (NJ-09)
Collin Peterson (MN-07)
Adam Schiff (CA-28)
Brad Sherman (CA-30)
Adam Smith (WA-09)
Henry Waxman (CA-33)

The 1 in the Senate is Ed Markey (D-MA).

The following day, the Senate had its vote: 77-23. 48 Republicans and 29 Democrats voted YEA. 21 Democrats, 1 Republican (Lincoln Chaffee of Rhode Island), and 1 Independent (Jim Jeffords of Vermont) voted NAY.

Of the 21 Democrats who voted NAY, 9 are still in the Senate:

Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
Dick Durbin (D-IL)
Pat Leahy (D-VT)
Carl Levin (D-MI)
Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
Patty Murray (D-WA)
Jack Reed (D-RI)
Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
Ron Wyden (D-OR)

Of the 29 Democrats who voted YEA, 10 are still in the Senate.

Maria Cantwell (D-WA)
Tom Carper (D-DE)
Diane Feinstein (D-CA)
Tom Harkin (D-IA)
Tim Johnson (D-SD)
Mary Landrieu (D-LA)
Bill Nelson (D-FL)
Harry Reid (D-NV)
Jay Rockefeller (D-WV)
Chuck Schumer (D-NY)

Two other YEA votes--Joe Biden and John Kerry--are now our VP and our Secretary of State.
I did not bother to go through the list of Republicans. As you can see, the Republicans were nearly unanimous in both houses of Congress. Only 1 Republican who voted NAY--Jimmy Duncan (TN-02)--is still in Congress.

No comments:

Post a Comment