Saturday, June 8, 2013

Which Senators and Reps are on Record Opposing both FISA Reauthorization and Patriot Act Extension?

I decided to cross-check two votes: the PATRIOT Sunsets Extension Act of 2011 and the FISA Amendments Reauthorization Act of 2012.

The former passed the Senate 72 to 23.  The latter passed the Senate 73 to 23. The opponents were largely the same.  Dean Heller (R-NV) opposed the Patriot extension but supported FISA reauthorization.  Bob Menendez (D-NJ) was not there for the Patriot extension vote but was a "no" vote on FISA.  The late Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ) was a "no" on Patriot extension but was not able to attend for the FISA vote. Daniel Akaka (D-HI) voted for the Patriot extension, but Brian Schatz (D-HI), who replaced him, voted against FISA reauthorization.

The PATRIOT Sunsets Extension Act of 2011 passed the House 250 to 153. The FISA Amendments Act Reauthorization Act passed the House 301 to 118.

Several new senators were in the House during the 112th Congress, and we can see their past votes. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) and Chris Murphy (D-CT) were both consistent "no" votes.  Mazie Hirono was a "no" vote on the PATRIOT extension but was not there to vote on the FISA reauthorization. Joe Donnelly (D-IN) supported both.  Martin Heinrich (D-NM) opposed the PATRIOT extension but supported the FISA reauthorization. Jeff Flake was not there to vote for the PATRIOT extension but supported the FISA reauthorization.

We have no on-the-record votes by which to judge Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Angus King (I-ME), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Ted Cruz (R-TX), or Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND).

That leaves us with 24 Senators who, in either the Senate or the House, voted against every bill for which they were in attendance to vote.

Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
Max Baucus (D-MT)
Mark Begich (D-AK)
Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Maria Cantwell (D-WA)
Chris Coons (D-DE)
Dick Durbin (D-IL)
Al Franken (D-MN)
Tom Harkin (D-IA)
Mazie Hirono (D-HI)
Pat Leahy (D-VT)
Mike Lee (R-UT)
Bob Menendez (D-NJ)
Jeff Merkley (D-OR)
Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
Chris Murphy (D-CT)
Patty Murray (D-WA)
Rand Paul (R-KY)
Bernie Sanders (I-VT)
Brian Schatz (D-HI)
Jon Tester (D-MT)
Mark Udall (D-CO)
Tom Udall (D-NM)
Ron Wyden (D-OR)

In the House, 7 Republicans and 102 Democrats voted "no" on the bill(s) for which they were in attendance to vote.  Of those, 5 Republicans and 88 Democrats are still in the House today; the others either moved up to the Senate, retired, or lost re-election.

The Five Republicans
Justin Amash (MI-03)
John Duncan (TN-02)
Chris Gibson (NY-19)
Walter Jones (NC-03)
Tom McClintock (CA-04)

The Eighty-Eight Democrats
Karen Bass (CA-37)
Xavier Becerra (CA-34)
Earl Blumenauer (OR-03)
Bob Brady (PA-01)
Bruce Braley (IA-01)
Lois Capps (CA-24)
Mike Capuano (MA-07)
Andre Carson (IN-07)
Judy Chu (CA-27)
Yvette Clarke (NY-09)
Lacy Clay (MO-01)
Emmanuel Cleaver (MO-05)
Steve Cohen (TN-09)
John Conyers (MI-13)
Joe Courtney (CT-02)
Joseph Crowley (NY-14)
Elijah Cummings (MD-07)
Danny Davis (IL-07)
Pete DeFazio (OR-04)
Diana DeGette (CO-01)
Rosa DeLauro (CT-03)
John Dingell (MI-12)
Lloyd Doggett (TX-35)
Mike Doyle (PA-14)
Donna Edwards (MD-04)
Keith Ellison (MN-05)
Eliot Engel (NY-16)
Anna Eshoo (CA-18)
Sam Farr (CA-20)
Marcia Fudge (OH-11)
Raul Grijalva (AZ-03)
Janice Hahn (CA-44)
Alcee Hastings (FL-20)
Rush Holt (NJ-12)
Mike Honda (CA-17)
Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Hank Johnson (GA-04)
Daniel Kildee (MI-05)
Rick Larsen (WA-02)
John Larson (CT-01)
Barbara Lee (CA-13)
John Lewis (GA-05)
Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)
Carolyn Maloney (NY-12)
Ed Markey (MA-05)
Doris Matsui (CA-06)
Betty McCollum (MN-04)
Jim McDermott (WA-07)
Jim McGovern (MA-02)
Gregory Meeks (NY-05)
Mike Michaud (ME-02)
George Miller (CA-11)
Gwen Moore (WI-04)
Jim Moran (VA-08)
Jerry Nadler (NY-10)
Grace Napolitano (CA-32)
Richard Neal (MA-01)
William Owens (NY-21)
Frank Pallone (NJ-06)
Bill Pascrell (NJ-09)
Ed Pastor (AZ-07)
Chellie Pingree (ME-01)
Jared Polis (CO-02)
David Price (NC-04)
Charles Rangel (NY-13)
Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40)
Bobby Rush (IL-01)
Linda Sánchez (CA-38)
Loretta Sanchez (CA-46)
John Sarbanes (MD-03)
Jan Schakowsky (IL-09)
Kurt Schrader (OR-05)
Bobby Scott (VA-03)
Jose Serrano (NY-15)
Louise Slaughter (NY-25)
Jackie Speier (CA-14)
Bennie Thompson (MS-02)
John Tierney (MA-06)
Paul Tonko (NY-20)
Chris Van Hollen (MD-08)
Nydia Velázquez (NY-07)
Peter Visclosky (NY-01)
Timothy Walz (MN-01)
Maxine Waters (CA-43)
Mel Watt (NC-12)
Henry Waxman (CA-33)
Pete Welch (VT)
Frederica Wilson (FL-24)

This list does not cover any of the 67 members of the freshman class or the 3 members who have taken seats after special elections since the fall.

No comments:

Post a Comment